• SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
  • View Aishwarya Mishra's profile on LinkedIn

logging in – the usability quirk

I have talked about this with some colleagues but when it comes to opinions – the more the merrier. The interface to login to an application has a very simple logic to it.

i. Majority of the users are there to login.

ii. A few of them want to recover their password.

iii. A few others would want to check the “Remember me option” when they login

Therefore, my thinking says the flow of a login screen should be

User name(Text field)

Password (Text field)

Remember Me (Selection Box)

Login (Link/Button)

Forgot Password (Link/Button)

Isn’t it really simple? Yet I see so many websites messing up with this order. Since there are lesser number of users for the Forgot Password functionality as compared to Login functionality why would one have it before Login. Similarly, whether or not I want the website to “Remember me on this computer”  is a decision I need to make before Login. Why would someone do it the other way round and therefore why would you place Remember Me after Login?

I am interested in knowing your thoughts on this? Any more aspects to be included?

Leave a comment