• SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
  • View Aishwarya Mishra's profile on LinkedIn

Usability issue with telecom providers

I call a number and the lady says in a very sweet voice –

“Your phone call is being diverted because the Some-tel number you have called is currently” busy/out of coverage area/switched off.

The lady may also say (depending on the provider)

“Your are being taken to the voice mail box service since the Some-tel number you have called is currently” busy/out of coverage area/switched off.

Well I see, there are two important parts to this message and they are not necessarily listed in the order of importance.

i. Your call is being diverted

ii. The number you have called is not available for any one of the reasons listed above.

Now if I am a caller there are two possible outcomes of this use case

i. I am not able to reach the person on the number I called and I do not want to leave a message on his voicemail box or I do not want to talk to him or his relatives on the diverted number.

ii. I actually do want to leave a voice message or try and see if I can talk to him on the diverted number.

But most important of all is for me to know the status of his phone i.e. whether his phone is switched off or out of coverage area or busy. Sadly this information is revealed at the last and I have to go through the rigmarole of listening to the monotonous voice for 5 seconds before I know the status. Wouldn’t something like this be more user friendly.

“The <provider name (optional)> number is currently <any one of the reasons>. <Rest of the rigmarole>”

One Response

  1. out of coverage will have same result as phone is switched off since base station are unable to capture tx power from that UE.

Leave a comment