• SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
  • View Aishwarya Mishra's profile on LinkedIn

note it…

From today on I am planning to write more regularly on my blog(s). To start with this blog…

I was asked to test a patch a few days back and I started testing it. The patch worked fine. However, I did notice a few things that I should mention here.

i. Make sure while testing you read the README.TXT file (or any other name by the which the accompanying instructions come). And yes, if there are no accompanying instructions please make sure you add one NOW.

ii. Make sure the instructions are as unambiguous as possible. I feel, more instructions are better than less.

iii. I saw some discrepancies in the ReadMe and I thought I will point them out – however the way we consider documentation to be less important, I completely forgot about it. However, my Boss – and that is why he is the boss 🙂 – noticed it and we made amends.

But that brings me to the title of this post – NOTE IT. During the course of testing, especially when we are talking about software products, we come across many issues that are subjective, unclear, not ready to be logged as a bug straightaway. We think we will file them or discuss them but just forget it. So please NOTE these things. Else they are not just opportunities lost for you to do a better job, they may also result in occasions where we did not perform our jobs.

Leave a comment